Skip to content

Bentley Awarded Legend Status as Victorians Honoured at Triathlon Australia’s Celebration of Champions

Several Victorians were honoured alongside some of triathlon’s greatest contributors at Triathlon Australia’s Annual Celebration of Champions Awards evening on Sunday at the Gold Coast.

It was glittering celebration of the past, present and future champions of the sport on a night that saw recipients of the 2021 and 2022 awards announced.

Among the award winners celebrated on the night were Victoria’s own Tim Bentley, Dr. Lori Cameron, Jeremy Peacock, Jenny Dennison and Adam Beckworth.

Geelong Triathlon Club foundation member, Tim Bentley was elevated to Legend status, presented the 2021 Legend of the Sport Award.

The Legend of the Sport Award was introduced by Triathlon Australia in 2014 to recognise athletes who distinguished themselves at a high level of sporting performance with achievements considered superior to the majority of their peers and who have made a greater impact on the sport of triathlon in Australia and around the world by inspiration or example to others.

Bentley was a key figure in triathlon’s early years in Australia, and contributed greatly as an athlete and ambassador to changing the face of the sport, particularly as triathlon entered into the professional era.

He won multiple events across Victoria and Australia, and internationally, and in 1988 placed fourteenth at the Ironman World Championships in Kona, making him the first Australian to cross the finish line that year.

1990/91 was a long sought-after break-through year for Bentley, as he podiumed consistently across the season and was later named Triathlete of the Year under the National Series.  In 1994, Bentley finished third at the Tooheys Blue Triathlon, racing against two of the world’s best, Brad Beven and Greg Welch.

Dr. Lori Cameron was presented with the 2022 Service to the Sport Award, an honour presented to individuals who have made a significant contribution to the sport.

Cameron is a pioneer of women in triathlon, voted on to the Women’s Commission at the 1992 ITU Congress, playing a key role with significant contribution to the development of women’s triathlon.

She returned as Triathlon Australia Board Member at the 1992 Annual General Meeting. Cameron was President of Triathlon Victoria in 1997 and 1998, and made significant contribution to the development of women’s triathlon through her roles at a State, National level and on the ITU Women’s Committee and as an influential leader.

As Chair of the Victorian Committee of Women in Triathlon, Cameron worked with TM Leisure to make its third All-Women triathlon a high-profile affair with television coverage, and a strong field including international guests.

Jeremy Peacock took home the 2022 Para Triathlon Male Performance of the Year Award for his bronze medal performance at the World Para Triathlon Championships in Abu Dhabi.

Peacock, who was also a member of the team who took home gold at the first ever Para Triathlon Mixed Team Relay, claimed a hard fought podium in the PTS4 category.

Jenny Dennison was recognised as the 2022 Rob George Award recipient.

The Rob George Award is presented to officials who demonstrate a high personal commitment, similar to that exhibited by the late Rob George – a valued long-term member of the Triathlon Australia family and highly respected by all members of the triathlon community as a Technical Official.

Dennison has been outstanding in a role where she has been coordinating all the technical officials across the state in Victoria, as well as officiating in senior Technical roles at multiple events through the season. She is an exemplary role model, goes way over and above in her volunteer duties and is a calming influence during the peak times.  Dennison has officiated in almost every single race in the Victorian calendar, travels interstate and has served for eight years as an official.

Adam Beckworth was awarded the 2021 Age Group Coach of the Year, provided in recognition of coaches who display excellence in all aspects of coaching at the community level.

Beckworth is the head coach of Beckworth Racing, which he created and continues to grow in Geelong.  Under Adam’s coaching the club has won the 2XU Triathlon Series, had over 70 athletes race IRONMAN 70.3 Geelong, and several podiums at Challenge Shepparton. He had three athletes race in the men’s elite 2XU Triathlon Series category along with three juniors in their respective elite categories however it’s the culture Adam has created, that brings athletes to the club – where he creates a team environment in an individual sport.

Bairnsdale’s Charlotte McShane was also recognised on the night for her efforts in Birmingham as part of the 2022 Commonwealth Games squad.

Proudly supported by

Content copyright © 2019-2024 Triathlon Victoria. Website by Double-E Design.